Au service des familles du Québec depuis plus de 60 ans !
Mr. Marcel Côté

Mr. Marcel Côté

1942-2021

 

Marcel Joseph Côté died on November 12, 2021 in Westmount, Quebec at the age of 79. Born April 27, 1942 in Lachine, Marcel lived the last 30 yrs of his life in Montréal. He met John St Godard in 1997 when they began a 24 year relationship. He and John married in 2017. They loved each other until his final breath.

 

Marcel is survived by his brother Pierre Côté and his sister Claudette (Pierre) Chalifoux of Lachine, Quebec. He is also survived his niece, Nancy Gougeon (Chalifoux) her husband Stephan and their daughter Megan, of Lachine.

 

Marcel’s mother, affectionately known as ‘Lola’ died in 2006. Marcel adored Lola, visited her often and called her daily. (‘Allo ma Lola!’ rang through the house, every day without fail). Marcel married Yolande Laroche, now deceased, in the early 70s. They divorced after 24 years. Their only child, Jonathan, now lives in Germany.

 

A curious, intelligent wit, Marcel sat at the front of the class smiling in his jacket and tie, throughout elementary school. He attended College de Montréal for high school and went on to Teachers College in Amos, Quebec in 1968 before exploring the South Pacific with Yolande.

 

He taught high school, briefly, before quickly becoming vice principal, then principal at the private College Charles-Lemoyne on Montreal’s South Shore. Marcel’s career as high school principal lasted 25 years.

 

He retired early in 1997, coincidentally, on the very day he met his future husband, John. Marcel was a man of his word, committed to John and their relationship. He and John fulfilled their dream of living together in warm comfortable homes, gathering often with family and friends. Their habit was to rise early for the gym, before walking to where John taught school. They’d often meet for suppers out at their favourite Montréal restaurants.

 

Marcel & John took their love seriously. They recognized their fortune in having found one other, then laughed like fools in backpacks all over the world. Travel was their passion, from Mexico to South America, from Europe to Southeast Asia, many times over.

 

Parkinson’s Disease was Marcel’s final challenge and he faced it with all of the strength, courage and stubbornness he could summon. Despite the support of medicine, therapy, friends, family and his husband, it was too much for Marcel.

 

It is with profound sadness, and relief, that we wish him peace. Finally.

 

Visitation Saturday, November 20 from 9-11 at J.J. Cardinal Funeral Home, 2125 Notre Dame, Lachine (www.jjcardinal.ca, 514-639-1511), followed by a memorial service in the chapel of the Funeral Home at 11.

 

RÉSIDENCE FUNÉRAIRE J.J. CARDINAL FUNERAL HOME

2125, rue Notre-Dame, Lachine (Québec)  H8S 2G5

Tél. : 514-639-1511 | Téléc. : 514-639-1516 | Courriel : info@jjcardinal.ca

Indications routières | Driving Directions

Prévisions météorologiques | The Weather Network

1 Comment

  • Kenneth Low Posted

    John, my deepest sympathies to you and your family.
    Take care.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Au service des familles du Québec depuis plus de 60 ans !
M. Marcel Côté

M. Marcel Côté

1942-2021

 

Marcel Joseph Côté est décédé le 12 novembre 2021 à Westmount, Québec, à l’âge de 79 ans. Né le 27 avril 1942 à Lachine, Marcel a vécu les 30 dernières années de sa vie à Montréal. Il a rencontré John St Godard en 1997 et s’en est suivi une relation de 24 ans. Ils se sont mariés en 2017 et se sont aimés jusqu’à la dernière seconde.

 

Marcel laisse dans le deuil son frère Pierre Côté et sa sœur Claudette (Pierre) Chalifoux de Lachine, Québec. Il laisse également dans le deuil sa nièce, Nancy Gougeon (Chalifoux), son époux Stéphan et leur fille Megan, de Lachine.

 

La mère de Marcel, affectueusement surnommée « Lola », est décédée en 2006. Marcel adorait Lola, lui rendait visite souvent et l’appelait quotidiennement. (« Allo ma Lola ! » résonnait dans la maison, tous les jours sans faute). Marcel a épousé Yolande Laroche, aujourd’hui décédée, au début des années 70. Ils ont divorcé après 24 ans de vie commune. Leur seul enfant, Jonathan, vit en Allemagne.

 

Tout au long de l’école primaire, Marcel, curieux et intelligent, s’est assis devant la classe en souriant, vêtu de sa veste et de sa cravate. Il a fréquenté le Collège de Montréal pour ses études secondaires et a poursuivi ses études en enseignement au Collège d’Amos, au Québec, en 1968, avant d’explorer le Pacifique Sud avec Yolande.

 

Il a enseigné brièvement au secondaire avant de devenir rapidement directeur adjoint, puis directeur du Collège privé Charles Lemoyne sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal. La carrière de Marcel comme directeur de lycée a duré 25 ans. Il a pris sa retraite au début de 1997, par coïncidence, le jour même où il a rencontré son futur mari, John.

 

Marcel était un homme de parole, engagé envers John et leur relation. Lui et John ont réalisé leur rêve de vivre ensemble dans des maisons chaleureuses et confortables, se réunissant souvent avec leur famille et leurs amis. Leur habitude était de se lever tôt pour aller au gymnase ensemble, avant de se rendre à l’endroit où John enseignait. Ils se retrouvaient souvent pour souper dans leurs restaurants montréalais préférés.

 

Marcel et John prenaient leur amour au sérieux. Ils ont reconnu leur fortune à s’être trouvés, puis ont ri comme des fous en parcourant le monde avec leurs sacs à dos. Le voyage était leur passion, du Mexique à l’Amérique du Sud, de l’Europe à l’Asie du Sud-Est, à plusieurs reprises.

 

La maladie Parkinson était le dernier défi de Marcel et il l’a relevé avec toute la force, le courage et l’entêtement dont il a pu faire preuve. Malgré le soutien de la médecine, de la thérapie, des amis, de la famille et de son mari, c’était trop pour Marcel.

 

C’est avec une profonde tristesse et du soulagement que nous lui souhaitons la paix qu’il mérite tant.

 

Les visites se feront le samedi 20 novembre 2021 de 9 à 11 h à la Résidence Funéraire J.J. Cardinal, 2125 Notre-Dame, Lachine (www.jjcardinal.ca, 514-639-1511), suivi d’un service commémoratif à 11 h dans la chapelle de la résidence.

 

 

RÉSIDENCE FUNÉRAIRE J.J. CARDINAL FUNERAL HOME

2125, rue Notre-Dame, Lachine (Québec)  H8S 2G5

Tél. : 514-639-1511 | Téléc. : 514-639-1516 | Courriel : info@jjcardinal.ca

Indications routières | Driving Directions

Prévisions météorologiques | The Weather Network

Écrire un témoignage

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *